Reviewing Blood Drama by Christopher Meeks ~ “…organic matter hits the fan.”

Posted: November 26, 2013 in Blog Tour, crime thriller, Mystery, reviews, suspense
Tags: , , ,

blood drama vabt-highresolution

Welcome to the tour for Christopher Meeks’ Blood Drama.

Looking for some mystery, some thrills, a bit of dark comedy, and some drama? Look no further.

Check out my review of Blood Drama and learn more about Christopher and his books.

Thanks to Teddy Rose for another fantastic tour!

And thanks so much Christopher for your exciting book!

blood drama cover

1771e-addtogoodreadsblack

Publisher: White Whisker Press  (June 15, 2013)

Category: Mystery/Thriller/Suspense, Crime Thriller

Tour Dates: November 12-27, 2013

Available in: Print & eBook, 242 pages

Everyone has a bad day. Graduate student Ian Nash has lost his girlfriend in addition to being dropped from a Ph.D. program in theatre at a Southern California university. When he stops at a local coffee shop in the lobby of a bank to apply for a job, the proverbial organic matter hits the fan. A gang of four robs the bank, and things get bloody. Ian is taken hostage by the robbers when the police show up. Now he has to save his life.

FBI Special Agent Aleece Medina’s analysis of the bloody bank heist drives her into the pursuit of a robbery gang headed by two women. She doesn’t anticipate how this robbery will pit her against both the bandits and the male higher-ups in the FBI while the media heats up during a giant manhunt.

The robbers are about to kill Ian, and all he has at hand is his knowledge of the stage.

~~~~

My Review

Freshly let go from his job and his girlfriend, Ian thinks it can’t get any worse. He’s wrong.  Filling out an application for a job he’s over qualified for, he ends up taken hostage by some bank robbers.

While held captive, Ian gleans all the information he can about the robbers, just in case his luck changes and he can escape. With a little help, he does, and takes something with him. Something one of the robbers will kill for.

I’m a big fan of character driven novels. So Blood Drama was a must read for me.

Ian is a down on his luck, sorta handsome guy, with no job and no girlfriend. He’s the kind of guy that grows on you. He’s funny, intelligent, and can laugh at himself. I laughed at him and with him.

Aleece Medina, Special Agent,FBI, is assigned the bank robbery case and gets to work trying to find out who the hostage is. She’s been chasing the Busty Bandit and her gang for awhile, and now that they’ve killed some people, she’s more determined than ever.

Aleece is confident and tough. She’s in a man’s world in the FBI and has to deal with all the baggage that comes with it. After Ian escapes his kidnappers, circumstances have Aleece partnering up with him to track the robbers.

There are two of the kidnappers that stand out to me.

Owen seems so Hollywood, but make no mistake, he’s maniacal and killing is nothing but a necessity to him. Get in his way and you’re dead.

Zetta, the Busty Bandit, is what you’d call a criminal with a heart. A few things she did made me like her, but remembering what she was, I knew things didn’t look good for her, no matter why she did what she did.

There is no one thing that stood out for me in Blood Drama. It was an accumulation of events and characters and their stories that kept me coming back for more. Well written and fast paced, Blood Drama was a lot of fun. I had a few chuckles, said ‘ you go girl’ a few times, and right until the last chapters, didn’t see how it would end.

Blood Drama is appropriately titled and the cover art is perfect. Well done Christopher.

4 Stars

~~~~

Praise for Christopher Meek’s Love at Absolute Zero:

ForeWord Reviews’ BOOK OF THE YEAR FINALIST

Top-Ten Best Fiction 2011 at Book Chase: “It is impossible not to like Gunnar Gunderson. As he progresses from one disaster or near miss to the next, one views him with a mixture of compassion and laughter.” Sam Sattler, Book Chase

Winner 2011 Red Adept Reviews Indie Award-Romance: ”The author hit a home run. It’s a very good story, very well told.”- Jim Chambers, Red Adept Reviews

Winner 2011 Noble Award (not Nobel): ”The tension between science and emotion has never been more keenly felt.”Carolyn Howard-Johnson

“Thermodynamics are nothing; it’s that love thing that is so frustrat- ingly hard to figure out. Love at Absolute Zero is an excellent read that is very much worth considering, highly recommended!”- Midwest Book Review

Here’s what Some of the Reviewers Said From the First Tour of Blood Drama:

“What sets this novel apart from other thriller is the development of the characters.  Not only is Medina more complex than the stereotypical FBI agent found in many suspense novels, but Nash is a new type of victim.  His theater and academic background give him an interesting perspective.  This is definitely a suspenseful, can’t-put-it-down thriller.  Clear your calendar in order to have time to read this from start to finish!”Tammy, The Self-Taught Cook

“Blood Drama was highly entertaining and extremely enjoyable. It is a combination black comedy and crime novel. The characters of Ian and Aleece are memorable, quirky, and unique. I  reveled in Ian’s quoting David Mamet (or some other playwright or work of literature) to deduce and interpret the information he had to ascertain where the clues were leading them.   Meeks is a gifted writer. He has a pleasing way of propelling the action forward while developing his plot and characters. I enjoyed Meeks Love at Absolute Zero quite a bit, but I liked Blood Drama even more. I’m hopeful that Meeks will bring back Ian and Aleece to solve another crime.”Lori, She Treads Softly

“This is one action packed thriller that you don’t want to put down. The author doesn’t waste time with the trivial, he gets right to the action and stays there. Just when you think things are as bad as they possible could get…wrong!

This was different from most thrillers I read in that it also has a little humor, I absolutely loved that aspect of the book.  The characters are well written, they seem like real people, flaws and all. There’s also romance in this book, which gives you a little relief from the gripping adventures.  I liked this book very much and so I will be checking to see what other books this author has written.”Vicky, I’d Rather Be At the Beach

“This story had me hooked just out of pity for the poor guy, but when things turned from bad to worse I couldn’t put it down. I had to know what was going to happen next. This was far from the typical suspense/thriller. Yes, it does follow the MOs you expect in some areas but the characters make it so unique.  I loved these characters. They were so unique that I could see them as real. They had their quirks and secrets that revealed their flaws and their vulnerabilities Nothing is really too farfetched. Yes, there is one character you might argue is but I live in a huge city. Trust me, it is not farfetched. Can’t say more or I let a big secret slip which is a no-no in reviews.  If you love suspense/thrillers that have some humor, you’ll love this book. Yes, it kept me riveted. You have to read this book. You’ll enjoy it and want more. Plus you’ll learn to appreciate your own days a little bit better.”Rebecca Graf, A Book Lover’s Library

~~~~

About Christopher Meeks:

Christopher Meeks first published short fiction in a number of literary journals, and the stories are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. Recently, he’s focused on novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century is a story of a man who yearns for love and success, covering over thirty years—a tale that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as “a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving.” His last novel, Love At Absolute Zero, is about a physicist who uses the tools of science to find his soul mate–and he has just three days. Critic Grady Harp calls the book “a gift.” The new novel, Blood Drama, has him edge into a thriller. Meeks also runs White Whisker Books and publishes four authors.

Christopher at the Red Room /  Christopher’s Website  /

Christopher on Facebook / Christopher on Twitter

Follow the Tour:

So Many Precious Books Nov 12 Spotlight & Giveaway

 Rebecca Paperback Writer Nov 13 Guest Post

Joystory Nov 15 Review

I’m a Voracious Reader Nov 18 Review

Kate Eileen Shannon Nov 19 Review & Giveaway

Kate Eileen Shannon Nov 20 Interview

Deal Sharing Aunt Nov 20 Review

Celtic Lady Reviews Nov 21 Review

Teena in Toronto Nov 22 Review

The News in Books Nov 25 Review

The News in Books Nov 26 Interview

FU Only Knew Nov 26 Review

Sweeps for Bloggers Nov 27 Review & Giveaway

Buy Blood Drama:

Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository

blood drama virtualAuthorCard Mock up

~~~

Thanks so much for visiting fuonlyknew!

Comments
  1. Emma says:

    Sounds entertaining. Best of luck to Christopher.

  2. […] Teena in Toronto Nov 22 Review The News in Books Nov 25 Review The News in Books Nov 26 Interview FU Only Knew Nov 26 Review Sweeps for Bloggers Nov 27 Review & Giveaway Celtic Lady Reviews December 4 […]

  3. Teddy Rose says:

    Thanks for taking part of the tour. I’m so glad you enjoyed Blood Bank!