The Bloodmark Saga by Aurora Whittet ~ Review of Bloodrealms #2 and Giveaway

Posted: November 17, 2016 in giveaways, reviews, Series, YA Fantasy
Tags: , , , ,


Welcome back to the tour! I have my review of Boodrealms, Book Two all ready for you. And be sure to stop back by tomorrow for my review of Bloodmoon.

While you’re here, don’t forget to enter the giveaway!




The Blood Mark Saga #1

by Aurora Whittet


Genre: YA Fantasy


Click HERE for my review.


Sixteen-year-old werewolf princess Ashling Boru is different from other wolves–she was able to shift to a wolf at birth. Rather than bringing pride to her family, it brings fear, and she is sent to live in Ireland’s secluded countryside. Ashling’s reputation is further blackened when she refuses her betrothed, defying the ancient laws. When her pack’s oldest rivals begin to hunt her, she finds herself in the small town of York Harbor, Maine, far from everything she’s known.

When she crosses paths with dark and rebellious Grey Donavan, something ignites within her soul. There’s just one problem: Grey is human. Their instant connection turns into a passionate romance, and Ashling begins to believe she can create her own life outside of wolf laws. When she uncovers long-buried pack secrets that threaten to destroy all she holds dear, Ashling’s courage and tenacity are tested. Will she choose her deep and enduring love for Grey or will she follow Old Mother’s path to her destiny?

Buy Bloodmark:  Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Book Description for Bloodrealms (Book #2)



My Review

I enjoyed Bloodmark, the first book in this series, and I knew there was so much going to happen in Bloodrealms.

There sure is a whole lot going on. Ashling now has four suitors vying for the right to claim her as their bride.  A couple of them seem to really love her. One seems to want Ashling as a trophy. And then there’s Eamon. I really don’t like that guy. Something is wrong about him.

There’s also someone or something watching Ashling. She’s attacked numerous times and barely escapes with her life.

Things get bloodier, even more dangerous, when Ashling and Grey enter the Bloodrealms. It’s a place of darkness and treachery. And evil from long ago roams there, waiting for more victims.

Holy cow. It was so hard to read the last half of this book. Grey, Brychan, Channing, and Eamon all have to fight in the arena. The last one standing will win the right to marry Ashling. I’m telling you, aside from Eamon,I was hard pressed to choose a favorite. All of these guys grew on me. The suspense was so intense. I’m still feeling it.

I feel I should explain about my feelings towards Eamon. He’s standoffish, gruff, and something isn’t quite right about him. I did get his story and it’s powerful.

I didn’t bond with Ashling that much in the first book. She changed so much in this one. I wondered how a teenage girl could step into the role of the Crimson Queen, unite the packs, and protect all living things. Sounds like a lot for one little girl.

Ashling grew page by page. She matured, found that stuff inside that she didn’t know she had. Became what she was meant to be. The pack chose her. She became The Chosen One. The author did a splendid job of achieving all of this in a way that made me forget this was a fantasy. I laughed with the pack. Cried with them. Fought with them. I became a part of the pack while reading their stories.

While the first book took a bit to grab me, this one did right from the beginning. The pace is fast, the romance is tangled and messy, and the intrigue, darkness, and violence really ramp up.

There’s no way I can stop with this series now. And lucky me, I already have the third book, Bloodmoon. That title alone gives me the shivers. Can’t wait.

5 Stars



Werewolf princess Ashling Boru’s eighteenth birthday is only a year away, which means that she only has twelve months before she is claimed and fulfills her prophecy to unite the packs and lead her people. Her father decrees that her four suitors must fight in the Bloodrealms, the werewolves’ ancient underground fighting world, and the winner will have King Boru’s choice to win Ashling’s hand. The wolf laws are rigid and barbaric, and Ashling’s illicit love for Grey, if discovered, will mean his death. But when Ashling and Grey get trapped in the blood-soaked depths of the Bloodrealms, they find ancient horrors far greater than Ashling’s father’s rule.

With betrayal around every corner and old nemeses set to destroy Ashling, she is more divided than ever between the destiny she didn’t choose and the love that she did. To make matters worse, her decision will not only set the course of her future, but the future of her entire race.

Buy Bloodrealms:  Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble

Book Description for Bloodmoon (Book #3)




Just months shy of her claiming at Carrowmore and fulfilling a centuries-old prophecy, werewolf Ashling Boru has stepped into her role as the Crimson Queen. She finally has the support of her pack and her love for Grey is stronger than ever.

But it’s not easy being queen. Ashling’s guardian, Baran, has been captured by the Dvergars, a family of evil wolves who will stop at nothing to possess Ashling’s power and destroy everything–and everyone–she loves. Ashling must unite the clans and build an army to stand against the Dvergars before it’s too late. Unfortunately, the Dvergars also have armies of the darkest creatures the world has ever known.

Shadows loom, growing ever larger as generations of pack secrets begin to unfold. Ashling’s people, the humans they protect, and Old Mother Earth herself all hang in the balance of Ashling’s choices. Will Ashling have to forsake her true love to save the world? And will she have the strength to do it? Bloodmoon is the thrilling conclusion to the Bloodmark Saga.

​Buy Bloodmoon:  Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble


Author Aurora Whittet


Aurora Whittet started out as a wild red-haired girl in Minnesota dreaming up stories for her friends to read. Mama’s Knight: A Cancer Story of Love is just the latest in a string of acclaimed works. Her first official writing endeavor became The Bloodmark Saga, featuring a werewolf princess-turned-ruler who falls in love with a human boy. Her first novel in the Bloodmark Saga, Bloodmark, came out in 2013, followed by Bloodrealms in 2014 and the final book Bloodmoon in 2016.

Connect with the author: Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Instagram


giveaway photo: Giveaway Banner for 42nd giveaway.png

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Thanks so much for visiting fuonlyknew and Good Luck!

For a list of my reviews go HERE.

For a list of free eBooks updated daily go HERE

To see all of my giveaways click on the lucky horseshoe below!

horseshoe photo: Horseshoe horseshoe.jpg



  1. lorih824 says:

    Nice post! I haven’t heard of this series. I’m looking forward to reading these books ?

  2. Sounds like you are really liking this series. :)

    • fuonlyknew says:

      It didn’t take long after the beginning of the first book to hook me! Then I tore through all three books and loved this series.

  3. Sounds like a great series. Happy reading, Laura.
    sherry @ fundinmental