Some thrills and chills ~ Darkness With A Chance Of Whimsy by R J Sullivan

Posted: October 1, 2015 in Blog Tour, horror, reviews, Short stories and collections, thriller
Tags: , , , ,

 

RJSullivanTourBadge

Most of you know how much I love short stories and collections.

I have some fun ones to share with you today!

RJ Sullivan’s Darkness With a Chance of Whimsy Blog Tour

My Review

Short stories and collections are like a cornucopia of snacks for me.  And I binged with these.

There are ten stories in this collection. Some are flash fiction, super short. And then there are some longer ones. All of them made me ‘think.’

Since they are short stories, I can’t really say much without spoilers. Instead I’ll give you some snippets from my head.

If you were offered the chance to see inside your loved ones head and find out how they see you, if they really love you, would you? Should you?

Never, ever put on strange head gear. Especially if your father invents psychic gizmos.

Good cop, better cop? Split the difference? This was such a strange, twisted tale and my favorite in the collection.

How an infant’s memory can get so twisted out of whack. I had to laugh at the ending.

Two young lovers and a second chance angel.

A computer that makes you smart? I’ll take one, please.

Sometimes it’s better not to keep a secret.

It’s true. The past should stay in the past.

Just how big is the universe and what cause the Big Bang?

The last story and my second favorite. What you get when you cross a vampire with a…..

All of these were great. All of them made me think. While they’re short in words, those words were strongly written.

You’ll zip through this collection in no time and reach the end feeling a bit out there. Take a step into the outof.

5 Stars

Book Synopsis for Darkness With a Chance of Whimsy

Collected for the first time since their initial publications, Darkness with a Chance of Whimsy presents ten tales from the imagination of R.J. Sullivan. Thrills and chills await you, but you may also get blindsided by the absurd. This volume includes a pair of stories featuring Rebecca Burton, the mysterious investigator of R.J.’s acclaimed paranormal thriller series. Among the ten stories, you’ll find:

“The Assurance Salesman” shows five strangers more about themselves than they ever guessed.

You don’t want to venture into Daddy’s basement in “Fade.”

Rebecca Burton tries to talk someone out of a bad idea in “Backstage Pass.”

A bullied police detective finally defeats his rival in “Able-Bodied.”

A desperate father finds the “Inner Strength” to save his young daughter, “Becky” Burton.

A child seeds his aquarium with a most unusual “Starter Kit.”

A brilliant robotics engineer creates a “Robot Vampire.”

Amazon Links for Darkness With a Chance of Whimsy

Print / Kindle / B&N

 

 

RJSullivanAuthorPhotoBWAbout the author: R.J. Sullivan’s novel Haunting Blue is an edgy paranormal thriller and the first book of the adventures of punk girl Fiona “Blue” Shaefer and her boyfriend Chip Farren. Seventh Star Press also released Haunting Obsession, a Rebecca Burton Novella, and Virtual Blue, the second part of Fiona’s tale. The short stories in this collection have been featured in such acclaimed anthologies as Dark Faith Invocations by Apex Books and Vampires Don’t Sparkle. His next book due out very soon will be Commanding the Red Lotus, which collects the series of science fiction novelettes in the tradition of Andre Norton and Gene Roddenberry.
R.J. resides with his family in Heartland Crossing, Indiana. He drinks regularly from a Little Mermaid coffee mug and is man enough to admit it. www.rjsullivanfiction.com

Author Links:

Website / Facebook / Twitter

~~~~~

Tour Schedule and Activities

9/28/2015 Jorie Loves a Story Review
9/28/2015 Book in the Bag Review
9/28/2015 I Smell Sheep Review
9/30/2015 Bee’s Knees Reviews Review
9/30/2015 Deal Sharing Aunt Author Interview
10/1/2015 fuonlyknew Review
10/2/2015 L. Andrew Cooper’s Horrific Scribblings Review
10/2/2015 Shells Interviews Guest Post
10/3/2015 Azure Dwarf Top Tens List
10/4/2015 Coffintree Hill Top Tens List
10/4/2015 Armand Rosamilia, Author Guest Post

~~~~~

Until the next time…..

Thanks so much for visiting fuonlyknew!

Comments
  1. I love the smiling “raindrops”. :-)
    sherry @ fundinmental